free at last

I cycled my way back from the University for About Half a Mile and stopped peddling near an isolated metro station. I parked my cycle, and sat on the pavement, completely scared and terrified, head in my hands, wishing for something wonderful to happen.
It was only a matter of time that I realized that I was not alone. I heard someone weeping nearby. I looked here and there and found a Negro sitting nearby, crying his eyes out.
It was strange to see that kind of person cry, I had never talked to such people before, due to the stereotypes and the presumptions associated with the same. But I couldn’t resist but ask:
“Brother?! What happened? Are you fine? All good?”
He looked at me in disbelief, as if nobody had ever bothered to talk to him before.
“No young gal! Your country men has treated am like hell! God know what I did with them. They laugh and hit me! I am not a criminal.”
“Hit you? Why?”
“Oh! Don’t you know? Racial discrimination. Have you heard ’bout that. How narcissist your country men are .Is being black’s a crime!”
“Oh! I understand that now. I’m really sorry for that matter.”
“Sorry indeed?! Well, well. So this country has some good people here as well. Wow!”
“Um.hmm… But why are you so damn upset?”
” I have got some dreams girl. I want to buy some house for me self, and do something big, I want to be famous and gain some respect from your country people and this whole world. That’s all I dream bout whole day and night.”
“So what’s the problem? The first step on the ladder of success is dreaming. Isn’t it?”
“You can say so. You do not have to face so many problems like me. girl”
“No, it’s not true., even this country’s fellow people have got problems, even we have to fight to get a unique identity, compete from a millions in order to prove we are the best, to stay in the limits, and be one of them. It’s really not easy pal.”
“I can get that. But at least you have a place called home.”
Where thou art. Thou shall home.
“That’s just a saying.”
“Isn’t. come on, even you have got a home back in your country.Don’t you?”
“i wish i had am a refugee, my mom, dad got died in a plague. It took my little sister away too.”

I regretted asking this question. When you lose someone forever, you also lose some part of your own self. And maybe that was the same thing that this guy sitting by my side was facing.
“What about you? Why are you here all alone?”He asked me.
“Me? I cannot really say, I just felt a little nervous and so came away from my monotonous life for some time. Today is the judgment day, it’d decide whether I’m going to get admission in my dream college for my dream course or not. It decides my future, my life, my everything.”
“Are you afraid of failing?”
“Yes. This time I am, since it’s the final time. And I fear that if I fail this time, then I’d just lose all my courage and confidence.”
“I have something for you, girl.” He said and handed a paper to me.
“What is this?”I said opening the paper.
“This is why I haven’t given up yet.”
I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.” 

  I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, and every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight; “and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed and all flesh shall see it together.”

This is our hope, and this is the faith that I go back to the South with.

And when this happens, and when we allow freedom ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual: Free at last! Free at last! 

“Isn’t it Martin Luther’s speech?”
“Yups.Whenever I feel down, I open this and try to calm myself. I try to tell myself that somebody in this big hollow world really cares ’bout me or people of my kind.”
“Wow! This speech is the best speech ever.”
“Yes, this is.” he said. And I noticed he had again started crying.
“What happened? Any bad memories associated with it or something like that?”
“Do you know Martin Luther and Mahatma Gandhi were friends?”
“Yeah, I do.”
“Sometimes I just wonder what would have Martin Luther thought if he were alive? How are his countrymen treated in the land of Gandhi? In his own friend’s land?”
“Oh! It’s a pity.”

The clock tower struck 3.My companion suddenly got up all terrified and afraid.
“What happened? Are you leaving?”
“It’s 3’o clock. The police come for patrolling here now and then. If they find me they will drag me to jail and then I won’t ever be able to get out.”
“Police? But you are not a criminal right?”
“No. But I am black and for them, being a black and a criminal is one and the same thing.”
“I wish I could help you.”
“What do you wish to do in your life?”He asked me.
“I… I want to inspire people, I want to influence them. I want to create a difference, change this world, through my writings and words. That’s all I aspire.”
He looked up and prayed to his god.
“May all your dreams come true? Amen!”
I smiled.
“I hope the same goes true for you as well. Amen!”
“I wish you get admission in the dream college of yours.”
“Thank you.”
We could hear the police sirens.
“They’d be here anytime now.”He said with a worried look on his face.
“You better get going.”
“Alright! Young gal. Thank you for talking to me like a human being today. And I promise you that the day you’d give your first speech in this city, I’d be the one standing in front clapping the most for you, I promise that.”
“Thank you. I’d surely wait for that day.”
He gazed a final look at me and stepped backwards.
“I have a dream that all our dreams will be fulfilled. “he shouted and ran towards the peripherals of the city.
Just then, my phone beeped. It was my friend’s message.
“Congratulations! You have made it. Welcome to your dream college. 🙂 “
I smiled and looked for my companion; he was nowhere to be seen. His blessings had worked.
I looked at that piece of paper again and wiped my tears.
“Let him achieve whatever he wishes to. Let him be what he want too Jesus! He’s someone who really doesn’t deserve to be living a life like that. I hope all his dreams come true.” I prayed and cycled back to my college.
I had understood a reason for my existence, I had got a reason to write, I had a reason to stay on the Vantage Point for some more time, and I had got a reason to fight.

I had achieved a reason!
A reason to continue!
Later, that night I had a dream about making someone else’s dreams come true. 🙂
I was free at last: D

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.” 

 

Leave a Reply

